The Culture Lenses that define us

19 Jan

The culture eyes, or lenses, I veiw life through every day are the lenses’ of my religion, a student, a programmer, a single man, and my physical disability. Each of those lenses give me a unique perspective of life that most others will never see in the same way. If I could rid myself of two of those lenses, or rather replace them with diferent lenses, they would be the lese of a student, and the lense of a single man.The other lenses, I would not want to give up for anything.

The lense that I would like to expand on is the lense of my physical disability. I have a neuro-muscular disorder called Spinal Muscular Atrophy Type 3 (SMA T3). I was born with this disability, but I see it as more of a blessing than a disability. I used to be able to walk, albeit slowly. As time went on, I grew tired more quickly, and eventually, all I could do was stand. I hit that point at the end of 5th grade. And by the start of 6th grade, I could no longer stand. It was a rough time. I still have my good days and bad days, and as time goes on, I will get weaker and weaker until it kills me. However, it’s taught me a very valuable lesson. Just because my physical ability has deminished, doesn’t mean that my mind, my spirit, my energy, the very things that define who I am hasn’t changed any. Even as I get weaker, I will always be Matthew Lohmeyer. Because of that, I never struggled for an idenity while growing up. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

One Response to “The Culture Lenses that define us”

  1. Sharelle May 19, 2012 at 13:36 #

    Matt…..that was so moving. I was so sure when I was reading through that, that the two you would have gotten rid of was the disability and something else, but that was so moving that you would keep it. It’s true that having a disability makes you see life different. Makes you appreciate things more, things that ‘healthy’ people take for granted. I hope to keep you around for a very long time my friend. We must hang out soon. I miss my Matty 😉

Leave a Reply

