Life. Boring or Interesting?

13 Jan

Over the past few weeks, I’ve had some interesting experiences that has caused me to reflect on life. They aren’t extreme or amazing experiences like a near death experience or anything like that, but they were life changing in a manner of speaking.

I used to think my life was boring. I get up in the morning, go to work, come home, watch a little tv or do some homework, and then go to bed. The next day, I get up, go to school, come home, do homework, watch a little tv, and go to bed. I ride the Paratransit to work and school, and it’s anywhere from a 30 minute ride to a 2 hour ride. Not a lot of exciting things happen on a Paratransit bus, especially when you’re strapped in, everyone facing forward. I don’t do much in the sense of activities. I can’t go for a hike in the mountains, or a bike ride. And, when you’re in a wheelchair, you don’t travel well, so it’s not like I go to other countries, or even other states.

Because of this, I always thought my life was boring, especially when I have friends who travel to other countries several times a year, or even post on Facebook about the nice bike ride they went on. It always annoyed me, and had me wondering what the purpose of a journal, blog, or social network was. Why bother writing, posting, or sharing when your life was so boring?

At the end of last semester, during my Christmas break, I watched a lot of Netflix in general, but a lot of what I watched mostly was the tv show Numb3rs. It’s one of my favorite shows. While watching, I discovered that my favorite character was not Don or Charlie Epps, but Larry Flienhardt. His interesting and philosophical way of looking at life had me often thinking about life, the world, people, and myself. And then, just the other day, it hit me.

Life isn’t about the adventures, but rather it is the adventure. It’s not about where you go or don’t go, or what you do or don’t do, but how you go or do, and the attitude you have. Whether you travel the world or work in a cubicle, life is an adventure and never dull. You just have to have the right attitude.

Wheels

Leave a Reply

